Really “don’t discount your education”

Rachel Lim's Blog

There was a great question on Programmers about graduating with a programming degree, but not knowing how to program. I see this kind of question a lot, and I felt the same way when I first got my degree, so I thought I’d write about my experiences and what I learned when first started programming.

This was originally an article I wrote for the Programmers.SE blog, however the blog doesn’t appear to be happening at this time so I am posting it on my own blog instead.


Start with baby steps

First off, don’t expect to be able to code enterprise-level applications or the next Facebook right away. You really can’t become a good programmer without a lot of practice, so practice any way you can. This can include hobby projects, reading books or source code, or even answering questions on Stack Overflow.

The book Outliers: The Story of…

View original post 973 more words

